Double Chocolate Espresso Brownies

Today has been a fun-filled day. This morning, I had a great chat with a friend. Followed by a fun afternoon with my family spent at the Imagine! Children’s Museum in Everett, WA. Tonight, we have a Family Game Night with some  of our home schooling friends. I signed up to bring sweet treats. However, after we got home, I couldn’t begin to think of anything to make.

Then, I thought, “CHOCOLATE!”

Years ago, when we lived in Denver, sweet friends from Washington came to visit us and gave me a cookbook that I have used quiet a bit–101 Things To Do With A Cake Mix. Every recipe that I have used from this cookbook has turned out nicely.

While there is no substitute for from scratch baked goods, I am a novice baker. Though I love to cook, baking is a new frontier for me. Baking requires following recipes, more so than when I am cooking. Having spent five years in Denver, where nothing that I baked turned out right, I am just now beginning to explore this new frontier. Using tips and tricks, such as those found in this cookbook, I have begun to feel more free and creative in the kitchen when I am baking. Enough to venture out on my own every now and then and create something of my very own.

I knew I had a cake mix in the pantry (remember, Eat From the Pantry Challenge this month), so I began to wonder what tantalizing treat I could whip up.

Voila!

Double Chocolate Espresso Brownies

1 white cake mix (or chocolate, just omit the cocoa powder)

1/2 cup of cocoa powder

1/2 cup of softened butter

3 eggs

1 cup of chocolate chips

2 shots of freshly brewed, strong espresso

1. Cream together the butter and eggs.

2. Add cake mix and cocoa powder, mix with an electric mixer.

3. Add shots of espresso and chocolate chips, stir in by hand.

4. Place in greased 9″ x 13″ baking pan. The batter will be quiet stiff. Work to evenly spread it out.

5. Bake at 350 for 25 minutes, or until just done. (Make sure not to overcook brownies!)

6. Allow to cool, then enjoy!

**At this point, you can also add an icing or glaze. Usually, I would make my own frosting or glaze. However, I had some ready-made chocolate frosting. I microwaved it for about 25 seconds, then poured it onto the brownies and spread it evenly. As it cools, it will harden.

The batter was scrumptous! Yes, all of us (me, my husband and our kids) licked the bowl, the beaters and the spoon clean! YUMMY! And now my entire house smells of chocolate and espresso laden brownies. Heaven! Now, they are cooling. I hope we are able to wait until we get to our destination to dig in. We shall see!

Leave a Reply

