Perfect Pairing: Chocolate and Coffee

Dark chocolate and dark coffee.

What could be better, I tell ya?  Nothing in my opinion.

Pure. Simple. Delicious!

Usually, I doctor up my coffee. Recently, though, I discovered the delight of a steaming cup of hot, black coffee. For the record: I am a coffee snob. Folgers doesn’t cut it. Sorry if that is your coffee of choice.

Since moving to the Pacific Northwest several years ago (and back again last year), I have developed a taste for really good coffee. Coffee beans freshly ground. Coffee freshly brewed, preferably in a French press coffee pot.  However, that is just my opinion. Although, you have to try it, as it is fabulous. My most favorite coffee is from a friend’s coffee roasting company, Vista Clara Coffee.

Then, we all know the joys of a wonderful piece of chocolate. For me, I have grown to adore the dark chocolate truffles, which are coated in cocoa powder and sold only during the holidays. Two of these precious gems is all it takes to make me happy. Absolutely divine. It’s a good thing they are only around during the holidays!

Today, after church, my daughter was desperately wanting to make chocolate cupcakes. I, however, was craving brownies. We compromised. Instead of making the traditional cupcake, we created Brownie Cupcakes. All of these ingredients came from my pantry, following the “Eat from the Pantry Challenge” that is going on this month. These were so easy to whip up, too. Seriously, within 20 minutes they were mixed, baked and cooling. (As if we waited to eat them, though!)

Brownie Cupcakes

1 chocolate cake mix

2 eggs

1/3 cup of oil

1/2 cup of chocolate chips

1/2 cup of chopped nuts (optional)

1 container of chocolate frosting

Mix cake mix, eggs, oil and chocolate chips together. Add chopped nuts, if using. Prepare a muffin tin (12 cups) for the batter. Or like us, you can use cupcake holders. Divide the batter evenly.  Bake at 350 degrees for 13-16 minutes.

The cool thing we discovered is they sort of collapse in the middle. PERFECT for filling up with yummy CHOCOLATE FROSTING GOODNESS!

This was the perfect afternoon treat. Plus, it was super-easy, not to mention fun for my daughter. She loves helping in the kitchen, too!

I think I am going to try this with a yellow cake mix and butterscotch chips, too. Maybe even add some toasted coconut. (Ooh, that would have been good in the chocolate ones, too. YUMMY!)

Hope you try it and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

