A Philosophy of Hospitality

Dishes don’t have to match, good food doesn’t need to be fussy, and there is always room for friends.
~Anna Thomas

Browsing a friend’s facebook page, I came across this quotation; it resonated with my heart. To me, this is my philosophy of hospitality. Don’t get me wrong, there is a place for fine china, lovely crystal and polished silver. I quite enjoy a impeccably dressed table.

Sadly, though, I think we have set this as the standard, as opposed to one option among many. What’s worse is we have come to believe if we can’t achieve this standard each and every time we invite someone into our homes, we have failed. Leaving us to believe that we shouldn’t even try, shouldn’t offer the invitation, or take the risk. Don’t buy into this! Please!

Exactly what is hospitality?

I came across various answers in my quest for knowledge on this topic. Here are a few definitions that I found.

Hospitality is:

~kindness in welcoming strangers or guests

~the act of generously providing care and kindness to whoever is in need.

~the quality or disposition of receiving and treating guests and strangers in a warm, friendly, generous way.

I am a Christian; my faith impacts every area of my life. All of it. To me, a Christ-follower, hospitality is to be a way of life, not just something I do because I am gifted or talented at it, or even because I enjoy it. As Christians, I believe we are called to be hospitable, no matter what our dishes look like, how simple or fancy the food, or the size of our home. Whatever we have been given, we are to use all these resources to serve and to bless others.

I came across the most interesting website (click here)**which discusses various Christian practices, specifically hospitality.

**While I found the area on hospitality very interesting and intriguing, please know that I am not endorsing the entire website, as I have not had time to peruse all areas. Take what is good, throw out what is not so good.

Coming soon, next installment on hospitality: ....Dishes don’t have to match.

So remember:

…DISHES DON’T HAVE TO MATCH

…FOOD DOESN’T HAVE TO BE FUSSY


….ALWAYS ROOM FOR FRIENDS

3 responses to “A Philosophy of Hospitality

  1. Great thoughts, Jada. This is somthing I am trying to grow into. I absolutely LOVE having people in our home, but being in an apartment the past four and half years has been challinging in this regard for a number of reasons… very limited parking… small living quarters with neighbors under us that we try and be considerate of as much as is humanly possibly. We’ve had what felt like chaos several times when families with more than a couple of kids come over… it was very difficult to even have conversation with the adults because the children were playing …not the children’s fault, they were just being kids, but there’s no backyard to run around in and just not alot of space for them to get their energy out or ways to segregate the noise and activity.

  2. Oh, Angela, I, totally, get the space issue. When we got married, our first apartment was less than 300 sq ft. We still laugh b/c you really couldn’t close the bathroom door without standing behind it, practically in the bathtub:):)

    In your apartment complex is there a common area that you are given privileges to use? If so, I would definitely consider that as an option. Perhaps even setting up games for the kids, or even a craft table. Just a thought. This might not be possible or available.

    Since we moved 18mths ago, we have had to make serious adjustments in how we have folks over (no longer can we have 30+ people over at once, specifically in the rainy winter months here). Our CO home was perfect for having large and small groups over to eat, hang out or just chat. It was not huge, just had a good flow and a huge patio and backyard.

    Our WA home is a bit smaller, not to mention our church office and my music studio are now here so more stuff resides here. More specifically, the flow is just not conducive to having large groups over as we once did. Instead, we have a lot of bbqs/potlucks in the summertime, where all of us can be outside. Or we meet up with friends at the park and cookout there.

    Definitely size impacts how we show this form of hospitality, especially when kids are involved, or there are parking issues. Just remember hospitality is more a way of life. Hearing your heart in your comment leads me to believe that you are a very hospitable person in many areas of your life.

    For those of us who do have size restraints (or other restraints) where we live, I welcome creative solutions/ideas/tips that have worked, or have been used to overcome some of these obstacles.

    Thanks for the comment, Angela!

    ~Jada

  3. Angela, I just figured out which Angela you are. Not the one I was thinking of who lives on the East Coast. The one who lives in my town and goes to my church. DUH! Thanks for commenting!:):):)

Leave a Reply

