Sunday Night Surprise: Turkey Fettuccinni Florentine

Last Sunday morning, I completely forgot that we had lunch after church. On the first Sundays at Selah Church, we share a meal together. Before I left for church, I set out some cooked turkey to defrost. (At Thanksgiving, I purchased a large turkey, cooked it and bagged it into meal-sized portions. Time/Sanity Saver for me.)

That evening, I decided that I needed to use it, but what in the world would I make? I had some fresh spinach that I needed to use, along with some mushrooms. I remembered there was some alfredo sauce in the pantry, as well as my pantry staple of whole wheat pasta. Voila! Everyone enjoyed it and said that I should leave it on the menu rotation! YEA! This makes a ton and we had leftovers for a couple of days.

Turkey Fettuccini Florentine

1 lb of whole wheat fettuccinni (or other ww pasta)

1lb of turkey meat shredded or diced

1.5 jars of Alfredo Sauce (you could make your own, but I keep things like this on hand for quick meals for us, as well as meals to take to others, or unexpected guests)

1 can of mushrooms

1 onion, diced

2-3 cloves of garlic, thinly sliced

1/4 cup of pine nuts, toasted

3-4 cups of fresh spinach

1/4 cup of freshly grated Parmesan cheese

Seasonings to taste: Italian Seasonings, salt and pepper

1 t of olive oil

Directions:

1. Cook pasta according to directions on package.

2. Heat olive oil in pan over medium heat. Add onions, garlic cook until tender. Add turkey and season with salt, pepper and Italian seasonings, along with the can of mushrooms. Use the juice, too. This will be used to steam teh spinach. Add fresh spinach. Turn down heat. Cover and allow to steam for a couple of minutes. (Will greatly reduce down). Add Alfredo sauce and allow to heat.

3. As Alfredo sauce is heating, toast pine nuts (if raw). You can do this in a skillet on the stove, or in a crunch, use the microwave. It only takes a minute, or two. (This night, I used the microwave.)

4. In a large serving bowl, add a ladel of the sauce. Then, pour the pasta into the bowl, covering with remaing sauce. Toss until pasta is nicely coated. Sprinkle pine nuts and Parmesan cheese on top. Perhaps, a few grates of pepper, too.

5. Serve with a nice salad.

Leave a Reply

