(Kids) Comfort Food: Southern Biscuits and Gravy

When Jadon was younger, he was allergic to milk. Sadly, we didn’t figure this out until he was 2 years old at Thanksgiving. We probably wouldn’t have even gone down that road had it not been for Jon’s sister, Janis, who asked some very spot-on questions after our Thanksgiving meal.  Her instincts were correct, as confirmed by our pediatrician after allergy testing.

For the next year, we were vigilant at taking everything dairy-related out of our diets. (Yes, all of our diets! This just made it easier for me preparing meals, as I only had to make one.) This was so hard, as there is hidden dairy in so many items that one would never think contained any sort of dairy product. Thankfully, he grew out of the dairy allergy and is now only midly intolerant to specific (imitation) dairy products.

However, during that time, we used soy and/or rice milk as a replacement for cow’s milk. Sounds simple, other than the fact that the only way Jadon could handle the taste of these products was in baked goods. For almost one year, I made Dairy-Free Biscuits and Gravy every morning for breakfast, just so he would have some calcium in his system.

After having authentic Southern Biscuits and Gravy all of my life, and introducing Jon to them early in our relationship, crossing over to soy milk/rice milk gravy was hard, but tolerable. I will say, though, that the day his allergy test came back with no allergy to dairy, we were all happy campers. It took several months of re-entry into the world of dairy before I braved making the authentic recipe for him. However, when that day came, we were all thrilled to have the dairy-laden version of this Southern breakfast (or dinner) treat.

In the last few years, we have greatly changed our diets, adding even more fruits, veggies, and whole grains, while reducing the amount of white sugar, flour, etc. that we eat.  I have experimented with this recipe trying to make it healthier and more heart-friendly by using whole wheat flour and olive oil. Yet, every once in a while, there is nothing like the taste of  Southern Biscuits and Gravy made with white flour, shortening/butter, etc.

On Saturday mornings, when I was a little girl, growing up in Louisiana,  my mom would make this for us to eat. The flavors just take me back to those times when I would watch Saturday morning cartoons (remember Smurfs,  Transformers and The Super Friends Hour ?) I hope you enjoy!

Southern Biscuits and Gravy

As typical, I don’t really have a recipe of my own, but, I do have some that I have used as guides in creating my own. Recipes with measurements are much more user-friendly. 🙂 I really like Alton Brown from the Food Network, so give his biscuit recipe a try. (click on link) This one is VERY close to how I make my biscuits, except I don’t always use buttermilk. (*if you don’t have buttermilk, just add a splash or two of vinegar to regular milk and let sit for a bit.) If you don’t like this biscuit recipe, go to http://www.allrecipes.com. You are most assured to find a biscuit recipe that you like there.

Now, to the gravy! Oooh la la! Some folks will see this and say, “EEWW!!! She eats that!?” This is how my momma made it. This is how I make it. Tradition. But you make the gravy the way you like it, adding whatever you like (i.e. sausage, bacon, etc.)

Egg Gravy

  • 1/4 c. oil or bacon drippings
  • 1/4 c. flour
  • 4-6 eggs, beaten 
  • Salt and pepper
  • 1/4 t of nutmeg 
  • 2 c. milk
Method:
In large saucepan, heat oil or bacon droppings over medium heat. Add flour, salt, and pepper to oil or bacon drippings, stirring until smooth. Cooking the flour a couple of minutes. Add seasonings, stir well with flour. Next, add eggs and stir to combine with flour mixture. Cook until eggs begin to scrambled. Pour in milk and stir. Add more for desired consistency. This gravy will be lumpy, due to scrambled eggs. To finish, season  to taste with salt and pepper.  Serve over hot biscuits.
4 responses to “(Kids) Comfort Food: Southern Biscuits and Gravy

  1. Any chance you have your dairy-free recipe on this? I’m still on the dairy/soy free diet with my little girl’s intolerances, but biscuits and gravy sound just yummy…. !! 😉 Wow, I’m amazed it can be made, never thought about it I guess! I’ve baked with rice milk before, but everything just comes out drier than with regular milk for me…

  2. Jada, we’ve been craving southern foods again so i’ve been trying my hand at them (I didn’t really grow up there and didn’t really have a cook in my childhood home anyway). recently I’ve tried biscuits and gravy twice and they were edible, but barely. It was mostly the biscuits that came out badly. I will try your linked biscuit recipe and probably your gravy too sometime soon (maybe tomorrow!).

    As for dealing with allergies, we have a nut allergy in our house and are also extracting everything even possibly contaminated with nuts from his diet. What an undertaking! Even though there is little earthly chance that he’ll lose his allergy, I pray for a miracle EVERY day! I’m happy to hear that Jadon lost his!

    thanks for this blog – I LOVE IT! (I also like that I can comment without signing up to anything!)

    • Deana, for dairy-free, I just used the same recipe, but substituting dairy-free products. At the time, that was all I knew to do. I will do some scouting around to see if there are better alt. and re-post. I will say that we used rice milk, instead of soy for the gravy and biscuits, tasted a bit more like the original. And remember, I was in Denver then, too, so I had altitude issues in baking, as well as all the substitutions. Not sure how it would work at sea-level, probably better. My other baking is much easier here in WA State.

  3. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday: Feb. 14-Feb. 20 « Food. Fun. Family.

Leave a Reply

