Julie and Julia

Julie & Julia. Did you see this most amazing movie? I saw it with an amazing group of friends. For me, it is one of those movies that I could watch over and over and over. Secretly, I am hoping that “Santa” might bring it to me this Christmas. We shall see if he heard my subtle hints. 🙂

I am a foodie. However, I was a foodie long before the Food Network, or before it became popular to be a foodie. I have just always loved food–eating it, cooking it, shopping for it, talking about it. When I was a little girl, I started collecting cookbooks. My first cookbook was from a  raffle that was held at a family reunion, published by the Abundant Life Church in Coushatta, LA. To this day, I still use this cookbook, which is a big deal for me since I rarely use recipes for more than inspiration.

My sweet husband has figured it out—I LOVE all things food-related. For our first Valentine’s Day together, he mailed me an enormous cookbook, 1001 Recipes for Chocolate. On dates,  it is exciting for me (and he indulges me) to stroll through the Pike Place Market. Then, head over to Sur la Table to meander through the kitchen store, making wish lists of all of the fun things available for the kitchen and the creation of culinary masterpieces.

Just as a child walks through a candy store, I walk through the aisles of these types of stores.  Although I am not really a kitchen gadget girl, I love seeing all the fun finds in these type of stores, like  Williams Sonoma and even the Costco in Lynnwood, WA, which caters to businesses, but has an amazing kitchen tools/gadget area, not to mention some amazing ethnic food supplies and ingredients.

As well, we have some great ethnic food markets in our area. It is fun to shop at these stores and find unique ingredients and fresh produce, too. I, especially, enjoy having my kids go with me and introducing them to fun foods and new tastes.  While living in Denver, we would shop at a local Hispanic market. Now that we are back in the Seattle area, we have found an Asian market that we really enjoy. LOVE IT!

So, back to Julie and Julia. If you have not watched it, you should. Rent it. Buy it. Watch it. Better yet, invite friends over. Make an amazing meal. Then, watch this movie! You will laugh out loud.  Jon hasn’t seen it yet. I can’t wait to introduce him to it. And I am sure after watching it, he will be asking me to make some of Julia Child’s amazing recipes…..guess I will have to really stick to the book on those, eh? Some how I don’t think trying to fly by the seat of my pants is a good idea when cooking French cuisine! 🙂

One response to “Julie and Julia

  1. I loved that movie! I can’t wait to bring it home and enjoy it again. I also love to cook, read cookbooks, and wander happily through kitchen stores…I can spend hours at it. It’s so relaxing for me. BTW, I am loving your blog!

Leave a Reply

