Healthy Whole Wheat Pancakes

Healthy Whole Wheat Pancakes

One morning when we lived in Denver, I scoured the internet for a healthy whole wheat pancake recipe. I didn’t find just one that I liked. So, in typical Jada fashion, I created my own, using ideas from the many that I found online. Over the years, I have adjusted and added more,  finally coming up with what my family thinks is a great tasting healthy pancake.

Mixing up the batter and letting it sit in the fridge overnight is not only convenient for crazy mornings, but allows all the ingredients to meld together. This is not necessary, but I tend to do this more often, than not.

Usually, I triple this recipe.

Healthy Whole Wheat Pancakes

1 c whole wheat flour (Or use white flour, but make sure to add wheat germ and wheat bran. Brown flour is BEST!)

1/8t salt

1/4 t baking soda

1/2 t baking powder

1c plain yogurt

1 egg

1/3 c milk (Most often, we use Almond Milk. Use a bit more for a thin batter.)

2 t oil (I like to use Coconut Oil.)

1tsp vanilla

1/4 c honey or agave nectar

1/4 c wheat bran

1/4 c wheat germ

1/4 cup of ground flax seed *

Mix wet ingredients and dry ingredients separately. Combine together. Have griddle hot and ready to go. Use a 1/4 cup to measure out batter.  Enjoy with your favorite toppings. My son love Nutella and peanut butter. For my daughter, it’s agave nectar and butter. Personally, I love a warm mixed berry compote.

**Flax seed is good for you, adds protein to a seemingly non-protein meal, and can be a substitute for the oil, as well as the eggs. I like the texture of the pancakes using the flaxseed, oil and eggs. In some recipes, such as Banana Bread or Pumpkin Bread, I used ground flax seed in place of half the eggs or for the oil. Just experiment. 

(c)all recipes are copyright and the culinary creation of Jada A. Swanson 2009

Leave a Reply

